US Time Zones Map

UPDATE November 7, 2021: On 7th of November 2021, at 2 a.m., the daylight saving time ended in the United States and clocks go backward 1 hour for autumn and winter. The daylight saving time for 2022 will begin on March 13 and it will end on November 6.

From east to west, the time zones of the contiguous United States are divided into four zones:

Eastern Time Zone – EST (UTC−05:00)

Eastern Time (EST) now:

Central Time Zone – CST (UTC−06:00)

Central Time (CST) now:

Mountain Time Zone – MST (UTC−07:00)

Mountain Time (MST) now:

Pacific Time Zone – PST (UTC−08:00)

Pacific Time (PST) now:

US Time zones map

UTC Time now:

For Daylight Time clocks will be set ahead one hour at 2 a.m. on March 13, 2022 and set back one hour at 2 a.m. on November 6, 2022. Now we are in Standard Time!

The Eastern Time Zone is commonly used by the national media and as well by other organizations as a “national time” for all of the United States. National media organizations will often report when news events happened or are scheduled to happen in Eastern Time, even if they occurred in another time zone. TV schedules, especially those that list events that are broadcast live across the country, are also almost always posted in Eastern Time. The major professional sports leagues also post all game times in Eastern Time.

Important: airports, railway stations, and other modes of transportation in the US follow the local time.

US national broadcast networks and cable channels generally air at least two separate feeds to their stations and affiliates: the “east feed” that is aired simultaneously in the Eastern and Central Time Zones, and the “west feed” that is delayed three hours for those in the Pacific Time Zone.

Time zones used in states beyond the contiguous US: Alaska Time Zone – AKST (UTC−09:00 or UTC−08:00 in Daylight Time) and Hawaii–Aleutian Time Zone – HAST (UTC−10:00 or UTC−09:00 in Daylight Time).

Alaska Time (AKST) now:

Hawaii Time (HAST) now:

Time zones outside the US: Atlantic Time Zone – AST (UTC−04:00), which comprises Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands, Samoa Time Zone – SST (UTC−11:00), which comprises American Samoa and Chamorro Time Zone – ChST (UTC+10:00), which comprises Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands.

Atlantic Time (AST) now:

Samoa Time (SST) now:

Chamorro Time (ChST) now:

As of August 9, 2007, the standard time zones are defined in terms of hourly offsets from UTC. Standard time zones in the United States are currently defined at the federal level by law 15 USC §260. The federal law also establishes the transition dates and times at which daylight saving time occurs, if observed. It is ultimately the authority of the Secretary of Transportation, in coordination with the states, to determine which regions will observe which of the standard time zones and if they will observe daylight saving time.

It is the combination of the time zone and daylight saving rules, along with the timekeeping services, which determines the legal civil time for any US location at any moment.

The Energy Policy Act of 2005 extended daylight saving time (DST) for an additional month beginning in 2007. The start of DST now occurs on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November. Because of that clocks will be set ahead one hour at 2 a.m. on March 10, 2019 and set back one hour at 2 a.m. on November 3, 2019.

Official and highly precise timekeeping services (clocks) are provided by two US federal agencies: the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST Clock) and the United States Naval Observatory (USNO Clock).

Source: Time in the United States